talk@xlabs.com.au

Privacy

User Privacy and Security Statement

User privacy and security really are important to us. Our primary user-privacy principle is “informed consent”. This means that the end user should always be aware of when and what data is captured, where it is stored, and consent to each use of the data by us and third party software. This page is intended to provide a plain-English discussion of issues that may concern users. Once you’ve read this, you may also want to check out our official privacy policy.

In our software, we try to improve your privacy and ensure your consent by the following mechanisms:

Camera light
We are not able to activate the camera without also activating the activity light that is featured on most cameras. If the camera light is off, the camera is off. We have not implemented any software feature or code that would circumvent this critical safety feature, and we never will.

On-Screen icon
We also put visual indicators in the toolbar of the web-based user interface, and in our browser-extension popup menu, to show that the camera is on (‘W’ becomes white and “Camera enabled” is ticked).

On/Off
The end-user can turn the system on and off at any time, even if you previously agreed to turn it on.

Consent to turn On
If a web-page requests that we enable gaze-tracking, the user must consent before it is enabled. The web page is only allowed to ask you once per site. If you change your mind, you must refresh the page to be asked again. We do everything we can to ensure that web sites are unable to activate the camera or any gaze tracking features without your consent.

Documented file content
We document the format and location of all data files to enable the end-user to inspect and review data captured about them. This information is contained within the developer manual. Except for one file which contains secret algorithm data, everything is stored in user-readable file formats. The developer manual also describes in detail all changes made to the end-user’s computer as part of the installation process. This allows users to completely remove every part of our software.

No remote video stream
The built-in video-streaming only sends video to the user’s own computer. Video cannot be streamed to other computers. This limitation is hard-coded into the program and cannot be altered. So no-one else can see your camera images.

No remote video recording
For developers, we provide a method of saving video from the camera to disk on the user’s computer. There is no capability to send these video files anywhere else. If you want to send them, you have to do it manually or build it into another piece of software. This ensures that video cannot be recorded and transmitted simply by visiting a website.

Email during registration
In order to make the system free to use, and prevent unauthorised commercial use, we require a working email address to download the software. We promise not to provide these email addresses to any third party.

System Usage information
When activated, the system sends a single message to us to say on what date it was used. This message only contains the email address used to register the system, and a timestamp.

When you visit a web page, and that page requests you to enable gaze tracking, you will be asked once whether you agree to allow the page to enable the system.

If you disagree, the page will be denied all functionality.

If you agree, the system will send a message to us that only contains the URL of the page that requested gaze tracking. Your IP address is not recorded. This enables us to track which websites use our system.

If you manually enable gaze tracking on any site, the system does not send a message to us. We do not receive URLs of any other site you visit.